John Travolta and Olivia Newton-John reunite for “This Christmas” album

Olivia Newton-John John Travolta This Christmas album cover photo

Grease fans rejoice! Danny and Sandy are getting back together. Well, sort of. John Travolta and Olivia Newton-John are reuniting after 30 years to release a holiday album titled This Christmas, which will be released November 13. The album will feature lots of classic Christmas tunes such as “White Christmas” and “Silent Night” as well as a few new, follow-up tunes.

John and Olivia’s first single, “You’re The One That I Want,” went on to be the best-selling duet in pop music history. In addition to that, they starred in the biggest movie musical of all time (Grease). These two have set the bar high for this album and while they want it to be a success, they also want it to do big things for their charities.

One of the follow-up tunes includes a track titled “I Think You Might Like It.” The song is a sequel to “You’re The One That I Want” and John and Olivia even worked with the same producer to create the new hit. “We went for perfection on it,” John explains. “It was really fun to do that,” says Olivia. “If it wasn’t for that song, we wouldn’t be here talking about it 30 years later.”

John Travolta and Olivia Newton-John in 'Grease'

John and Olivia will be donating the artists’ proceeds to the Jett Travolta Foundation, which helps to combat children’s disabilities including autism and seizures, and the Olivia Newton-John Cancer and Wellness Centre in Melbourne, Australia, which helps search for a cure for cancer and also helps victims of the disease.

“We all felt a wonderful, joyful energy while recording this album,” Olivia explains. “We want to make a lot of people smile and happy. It’s a project that we’re hoping turns into a perennial, one that can continue to raise money for these causes year after year, a gift that keeps on giving.”

John and Olivia aren’t doing the album alone. They have some big names joining them in their charitable venture — just take a look at the track listing:

1. Baby It’s Cold Outside
2. Rockin’ Around the Christmas Tree (featuring Kenny G)
3. I’ll Be Home for Christmas (featuring Barbra Streisand)
4. This Christmas (featuring Chick Corea)
5. Silent Night
6. The Christmas Waltz
7. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas (featuring Cliff Richard)
8. Winter Wonderland (featuring Tony Bennett and The Count Basie Orchestra)
9. White Christmas
10. I Think You Might Like It
11. The Christmas Song
12. Deck the Halls (featuring James Taylor)
13. Auld Lang Syne/Christmas Time Is Here (Medley)

John Travolta and Olivia Newton-John as "Danny" and "Sandy" in 'Grease'

Via press release:

Produced by veteran keyboardist/arranger/orchestrator Randy Waldman, This Christmas is the audio equivalent of those classic network TV specials hosted from the stars’ homes, an intimate, warm set of traditional holiday songs from an all-star lineup that includes Barbra Streisand (“I’ll Be Home for Christmas”), Tony Bennett and the Count Basie Orchestra (“Winter Wonderland”), James Taylor (“Deck the Halls”), Chick Corea (“This Christmas”), Kenny G (“Rockin’ Around the Christmas Tree”), Cliff Richard (“Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas”) and the original “I Think You Might Like It” by writer/producer John Farrar.

The idea for the collection came from Travolta after receiving a Christmastime text from his old friend Olivia noting that their 1978 smash, “You’re the One That I Want,” had just become the best-selling duet in pop music history. “From the moment we decided to do this, magic happened,” says Travolta. “Everyone we contacted agreed to do it.”

“It just fell into place,” added Newton-John, a four-time Grammy winner, who has scored five No. 1 singles and two chart-topping albums, selling a total of more than 100 million albums worldwide. “With our busy schedules, I don’t know how we got it done. John and I have always connected. That’s never gone away. When we’re together, we have a good laugh and feel bonded to one another. We’ve been through some amazing experiences together.”

“My desire was to make This Christmas an intimate album, not something too ostentatious or showy,” says Travolta, who early in his career was featured as an actor/singer/dancer with the touring company of Grease. “I wanted people to be able to play it around the house or in the car during the holidays, and make us part of your celebration. Gathering around house listening to Christmas music has always been an important part of that time of the year to my family.”

Order your copy of This Christmas at today!