LISTEN Beyonce releases surprise ‘visual album’ with 14 new songs, videos

Queen B - Surprise Album

All hail Queen Bey!

Just after midnight, the superstar shocked fans by releasing an eponymous surprise album. She announced the “visual album” with an Instagram teaser.

She released a longer video on Facebook…

“I see music,” the former Destiny’s Child singer said, explaining each song is paired with a video. “It’s more than just what I hear.”

Viewers who clicked over to iTunes, where the album is listed, found 14 songs and videos. This is her fifth solo album. Notable collaborations include husband Jay Z and daughter Blue Ivy.

1. Pretty Hurts
2. Haunted
3. Drunk in Love (feat. Jay Z)
4. Blow
5. No Angel
6. Partition
7. Jealous
8. Rocket
9. Mine (feat. Drake)
10. XO
11. ***Flawless (feat. Chimamanda Ngozi Adiche)
12. Superpower (feat. Frank Ocean)
13. Heaven
14. Blue (feat. Blue Ivy)

Buying the complete album for $15.99 unlocked three additional videos: Ghost, Yoncé and Grown Woman. Here’s a short teaser for Ghost…

In a day and age when performers’ tracks are regularly leaked, it’s something of a miracle that Beyonce was able to pull off this surprise.

In a statement, Beyonce explained this unique tactic gave her the chance to “speak directly” to fans.

“There’s so much that gets between the music, the artist and the fans,” she said. “I felt like I didn’t want anybody to give the message when my record is coming out. I just want this to come out when it’s ready and from me to my fans.”

The digital album is on iTunes. A physical CD should be available before Christmas.

hit counter